Online Design II: Inspiration Log 1-4

Web development Contracts: Illustrator/Photoshop aspects & Style Guides

A contract that I would be interested in agreeing to would have to grant me the power to control any aspects dealing with work in Adobe Illustrator or Photoshop. I find the creative characteristics of responsive web design to be the most interesting and have a keen eye for appealing aesthetic. I have always prided myself on my innate artistic ability and natural skill of freehand sketching and composing. This skill set transfers to my work throughout Illustrator and Photoshop as I am a perfectionist when it comes to design and appearance. These are the reasons why content involving the inclusion and placement of images on a given web page would have to be under my creative control. If not, I would end up spending valuable time tweaking the images or photos I was provided with regardless of their quality. I aim to be in control of as many aspects of my projects as possible in order to achieve a complete understanding of the piece and to ensure unity and cohesiveness throughout the work.

I would certainly opt to abide by my own style guide if at all possible for each one of my contracts. Again, this ensures creative control throughout my work while enabling me to operate within my own skill set and unique style. Being limited to the expectations of a style guide other than my own simply confines me to work within bounds which someone else has set. I do not want to be limited to any one particular style guide primarily because it would feel like a limit to my overall creativity in general.

Leave a Reply

